About me

Nice to meet you!

Career & mission

My studies of history, political science and Roman languages but also numerous experiences at museums (e.g. the Albertina) and in cultural institutions (e.g. Melk Abbey and Klosterneuburg Abbey) paved the way for me to become an enthusiastic city guide who is always up to date.

With passion and a wealth of experience I offer you a tailor-made exploration program through Vienna and its surroundings. Thanks to my qualifications as a teacher and travel organizer in Austria and abroad my tours are adapted to the individual needs of each group. You can expect a „Viennese original“, passionate winemaker and musician in two orchestras.

 

Contact me, I ´am looking forward to hearing from you.

I have been working as a certified tour guide in my hometown of Vienna for more than 20 years. For me there is nothing more fulfilling than showing the world my favorite city. In addition to the well-known places that enjoy worldwide fame, I also take my guests on a discovery tour to unknown, hidden and remarkable places.

Contact

Mag. Karl Zillinger
Historian, certified Austria Guide
& art guide
Tel: +43 699 19225103
Mail: office@zillinger4vienna.at

My vienna

Cultural commitment

It is very important to me to preserve the cultural heritage of my home town Vienna. As chairman of the cultural association Team 21 I have been trying for more than 20 years to preserve buildings and cultural monuments with the help of local initiatives. One of these projects is the Beethoven Path in Vienna-Floridsdorf which was established in 2007. Every year we commemorate the work of Ludwig van Beethoven by organizing readings, concerts, theatre performances and a special “Culture and Indulgence” hiking event. Thereby we pay tribute to the composer’s life in Vienna’s only Beethoven memorial on the left bank of the Danube which would otherwise be let go to ruin. Find out more under this link:  Here.

read & discover

Publications

Wiener Weihnacht

Viennese Christmas

Great book, for all history enthusiasts who like to find out about the past, but are also interested in the latest.

Read More
20210216110840
Wiener Straßenleben

Viennese street life

Around 220 historical photographs capture the atmosphere of church celebrations, carnival parades and anniversaries and bring back countless memories.

Read More
20210208163015
Wien-Donaustadt

Vienna-Donaustadt

This impressive illustrated book opens a window into the past of the district and invites you to remember, discover and rediscover.

Read More
20210208134433
Salzburger Weihnacht

Salzburg Christmas

This book invites you to rediscover the festive traditions of bygone days – from playing christmas carols with a trumpet from the tower to driving out the winter and the last snow with a whip.

Read More
20210208170153
Insider tips

Insights and news from vienna

en_GB

Über mich

Hallo!

Werdegang & Mission

Mein Studium der Geschichte, Politikwissenschaft und romanischen Sprachen aber auch die zahlreichen umfassenden Erfahrungen an Museen (u.a. Albertina) und in Kultureinrichtungen (u.a. Stift Melk und Stift Klosterneuburg) ebneten mir den Weg zum begeisterten Stadtführer, der immer am Puls der Zeit ist.

Mit Leidenschaft und einem großen Erfahrungsschatz stelle ich Ihnen dem Anlass entsprechend ein maßgeschneidertes Erkundungs-Programm durch Wien und Umgebung zusammen. Dank meiner Qualifikation zum Pädagogen und Reiseorganisator im In- und Ausland, sind meine Führungen den individuellen Bedürfnissen einer jeden Gruppe angepasst. Es erwartet Sie ein „Wiener Original“, leidenschaftlicher Winzer und Musiker in zwei Orchestern.

 

Sprechen Sie mich an, ich freue mich auf Sie!

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren arbeite ich in meiner Heimatstadt Wien als zertifizierter Fremdenführer. Für mich gibt es nichts Erfüllenderes und Schöneres, als der Welt meine Herzensstadt zu zeigen. Neben den bekannten Orten, die weltweite Bekanntheit genießen, nehme ich meine Gäste ebenso mit auf Erkundungstour an die unbekannten, stillen und auch belebten Plätze.

Kontakt

MAG. KARL ZILLINGER
Austria Guide, Historiker,
Pädagoge, Kunstvermittler & Autor

Tel: +43 699 19225103
Mail: office@zillinger4vienna.at

Mein Wien

Kulturelles Engagement

Es ist mir ein Anliegen, das kulturelle Erbe in meiner Heimatstadt Wien zu bewahren. Daher versuche ich als Obmann des Kulturvereines Team 21 seit nunmehr 20 Jahren, Häuser und Kulturdenkmäler mit Hilfe lokaler Initiativen zu bewahren. Eines dieser Projekte ist der Beethovenweg in Floridsorf, der 2007 eröffnet wurde. Jedes Jahr finden hier im Gedenken an das Wirken von Ludwig van Beethoven Lesungen, Konzerte, Theateraufführungen und ein Kultur- und Genuss- Wandertag statt. Damit soll das Leben Ludwig van Beethovens in der einzigen Beethoven-Gedenkstätte in Wien links der Donau – die sonst dem Verfall preis gegeben wäre – gewürdigt werden. Neben Beethoven stand auch Mozart im Jahr 2006 anlässlich des 250. Geburtstages von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart im Zentrum meines kulturellen Engagements. Mein Interview mit Dr. Marboe, Intendant des Mozartjahres, finden Sie  hier.

Lesen & Entdecken

Publikationen

Wiener Weihnacht

Wiener Weihnacht

Tolles Buch, für alle Geschichtsbegeisterten, die gerne von Früher erfahren, aber auch Aktuelles interessiert. Gelungene Texte super illustriert!

Read More
20210216110840
Wiener Straßenleben

Wiener Straßenleben

Rund 220 historische Fotografien fangen die Atmosphäre von kirchlichen Feiern, Faschingsumzügen und Jubiläen spürbar ein und wecken unzählige Erinnerungen.

Read More
20210208163015
Wien-Donaustadt

Wien-Donaustadt

Dieser eindrucksvolle Bildband öffnet ein Fenster in die Vergangenheit des Bezirkes und lädt ein zum Erinnern, Neu- und Wiederentdecken.

Read More
20210208134433
Salzburger Weihnacht

Salzburger Weihnacht

Dieses Buch lädt dazu ein, die Festtagstraditionen längst vergangener Tage wiederzuentdecken – vom Turmblasen bis zum Aperschnalzen.

Read More
20210208170153
Geheimtipps

Insights und News aus Wien

Auf den Spuren Beethovens in Wien

Auf den Spuren Beethovens in Wien

Das Jahr 2020 steht ganz im Zeichen von Beethoven. Der Komponist wurde vor 250 Jahren in Bonn geboren. Warum kam Beethoven nach Wien? Was erinnerte ihn an seine Heimat in Wien? Wer förderte Beethoven?

de_DE